Sarah Palin in Wisconsin: "The 2012 elections begin here."

From Wasilla to Washington.
April 18 2011 4:35 PM

"The 2012 Elections Begin Here"

Sarah Palin's trip to Wisconsin.

Just when Sarah Palin was starting to seem as enthusiastic about running for president as Britney Spears is about learning new choreography, Palin traveled to Wisconsin, land of union unrest, to deliver the keynote at a Tea Party rally. Palin reiterated her support of Gov. Scott Walker's anti-union legislation in what sounded an awful lot like a stump speech, one that got her boos from union leaders and an enthusiastic response from her base. The Washington Times, for instance, enthused that "[t]he former Alaska governor's pep talk reminds why she would be a formidable candidate. Not only did she hammer away at the substance of today's economic and moral crises, she was exciting." Palin's right-hand woman, Rebecca Mansour, furiously retweeted excited Palin fans' calls for a 2012 campaign.

Palin's speech gave them plenty of reason for thinking she's going to run: After indicating her support for Wis. Rep. Paul Ryan's budget plan, she also attacked the establishment GOP: "We didn't elect you just to rearrange the deck chairs on a sinking Titanic. We didn't elect you to just stand back and watch Obama redistribute those deck chairs. What we need is for you to stand up, GOP, and fight." She also said the party needs to learn to "fight like a girl," which could have been a campaign slogan, or maybe something more like product placement. Still, Palin closed, perhaps significantly, with, "The 2012 election begins here!" and "Mr. President, game on!" The Palin Meter jumps back up to 44 percent.

 Previous Palin Meter Readings

Advertisement

Thursday, April 14, 2011: 39 percent

Tuesday, April 5, 2011: 43 percent

Monday, March 28, 2011: 49 percent

Wednesday, March 23, 2011: 53 percent

Friday, March 18, 2011: 55   percent

Wednesday, March 16, 2011:
55 percent

Thursday, March 10, 2011: 48 percent

Tuesday, March 8, 2011:
35 percent

Monday, March 7, 2011:
40 percent 

Friday, March 3, 2011:
45 percent

Tuesday, March 1, 2011:
51 percent

Noreen Malone is a senior editor at New York magazine.