The Cartoonist Studio Prize, a new comics award from Slate and the Center for Cartoon Studies.

Announcing Slate’s New Comics Prize

Announcing Slate’s New Comics Prize

Arts has moved! You can find new stories here.
The inner workings of Slate.
Oct. 5 2012 10:59 PM

Announcing the Cartoonist Studio Prize

A brand-new comics award from the Slate Book Review and the Center for Cartoon Studies.


The Slate Book Review is pleased to announce the first annual Cartoonist Studio Prize, an exciting new award for cartoonists and graphic novelists, presented in conjunction with the Center for Cartoon Studies in White River Junction, Vt.

The SBR has already featured the work of fantastic cartoonists in our first six months of life, from Meghan O’Rourke’s eloquent review of Allison Bechdel’s Are You My Mother? to Campbell Robertson’s sharp cartooned review of Joe Sacco’s Journalism. And of course, each month we select a terrific cartoonist to illustrate our issue, from Derf Backderf and Dan Zettwoch to Bianca Stone and, this month, Laura Terry (a graduate of the CCS, no less).

Each March we will award the Cartoonist Studio Prize to two comics creators—one for the best graphic novel of the year, and one for the best Web comic of the year. Each winning cartoonist will receive $1,000 and, of course, eternal glory.


Winners will be selected by a committee made up of Slate Book Review editor Dan Kois, the faculty and students at the Center for Cartoon Studies, and a rotating guest judge. We’re pleased to announce that this year’s guest judge will be legendary New Yorker art editor Françoise Mouly.

Over on the CCS’s website, you can learn more about the Cartoonist Studio Prize—and enter your work, if you’re a cartoonist. And watch these pages for the announcement of our award shortlists in February.