slate book review
Slate Book Review
The Audio Book Club

The Audio Book Club Is a Bad Feminist

Slate’s critics discuss Roxane Gay’s collection of personal and political essays.

Books
Sept. 12 2014 2:45 PMThe Character Loses Battles, but the Writer’s Won the War Caitlin Moran is all grown up. Can her autobiographical novel about an unformed girl overcome that?
Books
Sept. 11 2014 4:18 PMAll That GlittersDaphne Merkin writes seductively about the brilliant surface of our surface-infatuated age.
Books
Sept. 11 2014 1:50 PMLost Souls Wandering to Their DoomThe gorgeous ghost stories of Emily Carroll.
Books
Sept. 10 2014 2:10 PMLongings and DesiresAnother masterpiece of love, lust, and suspense from Sarah Waters.
Books
Sept. 10 2014 11:08 AMThe AbracadabrapolisJoseph O’Neill’s new novel is about a nameless expat in Dubai.
The Completist
Sept. 9 2014 11:31 PMI Read 93 Books About Pop AlbumsHere’s what I learned.
Books
Sept. 9 2014 9:30 AMAll You Need Is NevThe Catfish host wrote a book. It’s everything I hoped it would be.
Books
Sept. 8 2014 12:35 PMThe Illusions of ControlJeff VanderMeer’s extraordinary Southern Reach Trilogy.
Books
Sept. 8 2014 8:30 AMInterested in the OctopusesBen Lerner’s great novel 10:04 directs our attention toward the little things while slyly addressing the big ones.
Education
Aug. 18 2014 11:01 AM“My Most Offended Readers Are Ivy-Bound 18-Year-Olds”A conversation with Excellent Sheep author William Deresiewicz.
Books
Aug. 8 2014 11:57 AMThe Cabinet of MarvelsThe deep truths and irreducible weirdness of fairy tales.
Books
Aug. 8 2014 7:11 AMDeath by InchesThe battle over the metric system in America.
Books
Aug. 7 2014 11:52 AMBlindsidedDesigning a book cover for a collection of short stories about characters caught by surprise.
Books
Aug. 7 2014 10:20 AMOn Lena Finkle’s Magic BarrelA cartoon review.
Books
Aug. 6 2014 3:10 PMThe End of the Suburban NovelIn Friendswood, René Steinke tries to reimagine a familiar story.
Books
Sept. 12 2014 7:43 AMRelax, ParentsYour teenager probably doesn’t even know what a sex bracelet is.
Books
Sept. 11 2014 3:40 PMIn Search of TransparencyThe Irish author Eimear McBride’s breathtaking debut novel A Girl Is a Half-Formed Thing.
Books
Sept. 11 2014 12:44 PMYou Had to Be ThereWhat we can learn from things that used to be funny.
Books
Sept. 10 2014 12:56 PMSecret ChordsThe brilliance—and the blind spots—of one of the world’s great rock critics.
Books
Sept. 10 2014 10:43 AMDotted LinesRainey Royal portrays the real complexity of teenage sexuality.
Books
Sept. 9 2014 10:30 AMLes Mots JustesWhy is learning French so terrifying?
Culturebox
Sept. 8 2014 11:00 PMReading InsecurityHas the Internet killed thoughtful, prolonged engagement with a text—or are we nostalgic for a reading Eden that never existed?
Books
Sept. 8 2014 11:30 AMA Counter-MelodyElena Ferrante’s brilliant, riveting novels about female friendship.
Books
Sept. 2 2014 2:20 PMCloudy AtlasDavid Mitchell’s portentous new book is no fun.
Books
Aug. 8 2014 12:14 PMBig Gay PalsThe troubles and triumphs of fat gay men.
The Audio Book Club
Aug. 8 2014 11:06 AMThe Audio Book Club Asks, Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?Slate critics take on Roz Chast’s cartoon memoir about her parents’ decline.
Books
Aug. 7 2014 12:43 PMThe LackWhat are the costs of our perpetual state of connection?
The Eye
Aug. 7 2014 10:52 AMWhat’s the Purpose of Book Jackets in a Digital World?
Books
Aug. 7 2014 7:49 AMRacial DysphoriaJess Row’s novel explores a world where racial reassignment surgery is becoming commonplace.
Books
Aug. 6 2014 12:11 PMScratch MarksThe beauty of a comic book drawn only in pencil.

READ MORE STORIES