And We're Done: Debt Deal Passes Senate 74-26

Reporting on Politics and Policy.
Aug. 2 2011 12:51 PM

And We're Done: Debt Deal Passes Senate 74-26

The Senate has passed the Budget Control Act, with a much more robust rebellion from Republicans than the one that occurred in the House. But there was no filibuster, and no objection to unanimous consent. There were seven Democratic "noes," and 19 Republican "noes."

The Republican "noes":


Kelly Ayotte
Dan Coats
Saxby Chambliss
Tom Coburn
Jim DeMint
Lindsay Graham
Chuck Grassley
Orrin Hatch
James Inhofe
Ron Johnson
Dean Heller
Mike Lee
Jerry Moran
Rand Paul
Marco Rubio
Jeff Sessions
Richard Shelby
Pat Toomey
David Vitter

The Democratic "noes":

Kirsten Gillibrand
Tom Harkin
Frank Lautenberg
Bob Menendez
Jeff Merkley
Ben Nelson
Bernie Sanders (I)

David Weigel is a Slate political reporter. 



More Than Scottish Pride

Scotland’s referendum isn’t about nationalism. It’s about a system that failed, and a new generation looking to take a chance on itself. 

What Charles Barkley Gets Wrong About Corporal Punishment and Black Culture

Why Greenland’s “Dark Snow” Should Worry You

Three Talented Actresses in Three Terrible New Shows

The Human Need to Find Connections in Everything

It’s the source of creativity and delusions. It can harm us more than it helps us.


Happy Constitution Day!

Too bad it’s almost certainly unconstitutional.

Is It Worth Paying Full Price for the iPhone 6 to Keep Your Unlimited Data Plan? We Crunch the Numbers.

My Father Was James Brown. I Watched Him Beat My Mother. Then I Married Someone Like Him.

  News & Politics
Sept. 17 2014 12:02 PM Here It Is: The Flimsiest Campaign Attack Ad of 2014, Which Won't Stop Running
Sept. 16 2014 4:16 PM The iPhone 6 Marks a Fresh Chance for Wireless Carriers to Kill Your Unlimited Data
The Eye
Sept. 16 2014 12:20 PM These Outdoor Cat Shelters Have More Style Than the Average Home
  Double X
The XX Factor
Sept. 15 2014 3:31 PM My Year As an Abortion Doula
  Slate Plus
Slate Fare
Sept. 17 2014 9:37 AM Is Slate Too Liberal?  A members-only open thread.
Sept. 17 2014 11:06 AM Inside the Exclusive World of Members-Only Clubs
Future Tense
Sept. 17 2014 11:14 AM How Does That Geometry Problem Make You Feel? Computer tutors that can read students’ emotions.
  Health & Science
Bad Astronomy
Sept. 17 2014 11:18 AM A Bridge Across the Sky
Sports Nut
Sept. 15 2014 9:05 PM Giving Up on Goodell How the NFL lost the trust of its most loyal reporters.