PATRIOT Act Authorization Fails; Eight GOP Freshmen Vote No

Reporting on Politics and Policy.
Feb. 8 2011 7:41 PM

PATRIOT Act Authorization Fails; Eight GOP Freshmen Vote No

Reauthorization of three key provisions of the PATRIOT Act just failed in the House. Because this was a motion to suspend the rules, supporters needed 284 votes to move ahead -- the vote was 277-148.

So did the Tea Party movement beat reauthorization? Here's a list of the 26 Republicans who voted no. In italics -- the eight members who were elected in 2010 in the Tea Party wave.

David Weigel David Weigel

David Weigel is a Slate political reporter. 


Justin Amash
Roscoe Bartlett
Rob Bishop
Paul Broun
John Campbell
John Duncan
Mike Fitzpatrick*
Chris Gibson
Tom Graves
Dean Heller
Randy Hultgren
Tim Johnson
Walter Jones
Jack Kingston
Raul Labrador
Connie Mack
Kenny Marchant
Tom McClintock
Ron Paul
Denny Rehberg
Phil Roe
Dana Rohrabacher
Bobby Schilling
David Schweikert
Rob Woodall

Don Young

Many of the big Tea Party names, like Michele Bachmann, Kristi Noem, and Allen West, voted to pass the authorization. I break this out because there'll be a temptation to say "the Tea Party and its isolationist elements beat the reauthorization," and that's not quite it.

*Fitzpatrick was elected in 2006 and 2010 -- some news outlets are counting him as a freshman.

UPDATE: A historical artifact that tells you how this was seen as a fait accompli:


David Weigel is a Slate political reporter.