1995-96 government shutdown: List of the 125 congressmen and women who were in office during the last shutdown.

The Lawmakers Who Were Around For the Last Government Shutdown

The Slatest
Your News Companion
Sept. 30 2013 9:39 AM

The Lawmakers Who Were Around For the Last Government Shutdown

An American flag waves outside the United States Capitol building as Congress remains gridlocked over legislation to continue funding the federal government

Photo by Win McNamee/Getty Images

Barring an eleventh-hour deal that few expect, the federal government is set to shutdown at midnight tonight. The shutdown would be the 17th since 1977 and the first since the 21-day closure that spanned from Dec. 16, 1995 to Jan. 5, 1996.

That last one no doubt remains fresh in the memory of Congress' top leaders on both sides of the aisle: House Speaker John Boehner and House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi were both in office then, as was Senate Majoirty Leader Harry Reid and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell. The same may not be true for most of the rank-and-file members in both chambers, the majority of whom were not serving in Congress during the high-stakes budget battles of the mid-1990s between Bill Clinton and a Newt Gingrich-led House of the mid-1990s. Here's a list of those who were around in the House or Senate back then:


House Republicans in Office During Last Shutdown:

  1. Bachus, Spencer (R-Ala.)
  2. Barton, Joe (R-Texas)
  3. Boehner, John (R-Ohio),
  4. Calvert, Ken (R-Calif.)
  5. Camp, Dave (R-Mich.)
  6. Chabot, Steve (R-Ohio)
  7. Coble, Howard (R-N.C.)
  8. Duncan, John J., Jr. (R-Tenn.)
  9. Frelinghuysen, Rodney (R-N.J.)
  10. Goodlatte, Bob (R-Va.)
  11. Hall, Ralph (R-Texas)
  12. Hastings, Doc (R-Wash.)
  13. Johnson, Sam (R-Texas)
  14. Jones, Walter, Jr. (R-N.C.)
  15. King, Peter (R-N.Y.)
  16. Kingston, Jack (R-Ga.)
  17. Latham, Tom (R-Iowa)
  18. LoBiondo, Frank (R-N.J.)
  19. Lucas, Frank (R-Okla.)
  20. McKeon, Howard P. Buck (R-Calif.)
  21. Mica, John (R-Fla.)
  22. Petri, Thomas (R-Wis.)
  23. Rogers, Harold (R-Ky.)
  24. Rohrabacher, Dana (R-Calif.)
  25. Ros-Lehtinen, Ileana (R-Fla.)
  26. Royce, Edward (R-Calif.)
  27. Salmon, Matt (R-Ariz.)
  28. Sanford, Mark (R-S.C.)
  29. Sensenbrenner, James, Jr. (R-Wis.)
  30. Smith, Christopher (R-N.J.)
  31. Smith, Lamar (R-Texas)
  32. Stockman, Steve (R-Texas)
  33. Thornberry, Mac (R-Texas)
  34. Upton, Fred (R-Mich.)
  35. Whitfield, Ed (R-Ky.)
  36. Wolf, Frank (R-Va.)
  37. Young, Bill (R-Fla.)
  38. Young, Don (R-Alaska)

House Democrats in Office During Last Shutdown:

  1. Andrews, Robert. (D-N.J.)
  2. Becerra, Xavier (D-Calif.)
  3. Bishop, Sanford D., Jr. (D-Ga.)
  4. Blumenaur, Earl (D-Ore.)
  5. Brown, Corrine (D-Fla.)
  6. Clyburn, James (D-S.C.)
  7. Conyers, John, Jr. (D-Mich.)
  8. Cummings, Elijah (D-Md.)
  9. DeFazio, Peter (D-Ore.)
  10. DeLauro, Rosa (D-Conn.)
  11. Dingell, John (D-Mich.)
  12. Doggett, Lloyd (D-Texas)
  13. Doyle, Michael (D-Pa.)
  14. Engel, Eliot (D-N.Y.)
  15. Eshoo, Anna (D-Calif.)
  16. Farr, Sam (D-Calif.)
  17. Fattah, Chaka (D-Pa.)
  18. Green, Gene (D-Texas)
  19. Gutierrez, Luis (D-Ill.)
  20. Hastings, Alcee (D-Fla.)
  21. Hoyer, Steny (D-Md.)
  22. Jackson Lee, Sheila (D-Texas)
  23. Johnson, Eddie Bernice (D-Texas)
  24. Kaptur, Marcy (D-Ohio)
  25. Levin, Sander (D-Mich.)
  26. Lewis, John (D-Ga.)
  27. Lofgren, Zoe (D-Calif.)
  28. Lowey, Nita (D-N.Y.)
  29. Maloney, Carolyn (D-N.Y.)
  30. McDermott, Jim (D-Wash.)
  31. Miller, George (D-Calif.)
  32. Moran, James (D-Va.)
  33. Nadler, Jerrold (D-N.Y.)
  34. Neal, Richard (D-Mass.)
  35. Pallone, Frank, Jr. (D-N.J.)
  36. Pastor, Ed (D-Ariz.)
  37. Pelosi, Nancy (D-Calif.)
  38. Peterson, Collin (D-Minn.)
  39. Rahall, Nick J., II (D-W.Va.)
  40. Rangel, Charles (D-N.Y.)
  41. Roybal-Allard, Lucille (D-Calif.)
  42. Rush, Bobby (D-Ill.)
  43. Scott, Bobby (D-Va.)
  44. Serrano, Jose (D-N.Y.)
  45. Slaughter, Louise (D-N.Y.)
  46. Thompson, Bennie (D-Miss.)
  47. Velazquez, Nydia (D-N.Y.)
  48. Visclosky, Peter (D-Ind.)
  49. Waters, Maxine (D-Calif.)
  50. Watt, Melvin (D-N.C.)
  51. Waxman, Henry (D-Calif.)

Also non-voting delegates: Faleomavaega, Eni F.H. (D-Amer. Samoa); Norton, Eleanor Holmes (D-D.C.)

Senate Republicans in Congress During Last Shutdown

  1. Burr, Richard (R-N.C.) [serving in House]
  2. Chambliss, Saxby (R-Ga.) [House]
  3. Coburn, Tom (R-Okla.) [House]
  4. Crapo, Mike (R-Idaho) [House]
  5. Graham, Lindsey (R-S.C.) [House]
  6. Portman, Rob (R-Ohio) [House]
  7. Roberts, Pat (R-Kan.) [House]
  8. Wicker, Roger (R-Miss.) [House]
  9. Coats, Daniel (R-Ind.)
  10. Cochran, Thad (R-Miss.)
  11. Grassley, Chuck (R-Iowa)
  12. Hatch, Orrin (R-Utah)
  13. Inhofe, James, (R-Okla.)
  14. McCain, John (R-Ariz.)
  15. McConnell, Mitch (R-Ky.)
  16. Shelby, Richard (R-Ala.)

Senate Democrats in Congress During Last Shutdown:

  1. Brown, Sherrod (D-Ohio) [serving in House]
  2. Cardin, Benjamin (D-Md.) [House]
  3. Durbin, Dick (D-Ill.) [House]
  4. Johnson, Tim (D-S.D.) [House]
  5. Markey, Edward (D-Mass.) [House]
  6. Menendez, Robert (D-N.J.) [House]
  7. Reed, Jack (D-R.I.) [House]
  8. Sanders, Bernard (I-Vt.) [House]
  9. Schumer, Charles (D-N.Y.) [House]
  10. Wyden, Ron (D-Ore.) [House]
  11. Baucus, Max (D-Mont.)
  12. Boxer, Barbara (D-Calif.)
  13. Feinstein, Dianne (D-Calif.)
  14. Harkin, Tom, (D-Iowa)
  15. Leahy, Patrick (D-Vt.)
  16. Levin, Carl (D-Mich.)
  17. Mikulski, Barbara (D-Md.)
  18. Murray, Patty (D-Wash.)
  19. Reid, Harry (D-Nev.)
  20. Rockefeller, Jay (D-W.Va.)

In all, that's a total of 125 of 535 voting members of Congress who are still around.

Josh Voorhees Josh Voorhees

Josh Voorhees is a Slate senior writer. He lives in Iowa City. 

  Slate Plus
Medical Examiner
March 27 2015 5:16 PM What Happened at Slate This Week? Alison Griswold describes her experience reporting on the Germanwings tragedy.