Watch Astronauts Come Back to Earth—Live!

Bad Astronomy
The entire universe in blog form
May 13 2014 12:29 PM

Watch Astronauts Come Back to Earth—Live!

Soyuz on ISS
The Soyuz capsule that will bring three astronauts back to Earth today is docked to the space station, the boot of Italy far below. Click to enmaggiorenate.

Photo by NASA

At 19:15 UTC (3:15 p.m. EDT) today, three astronauts stuffed into a Soyuz capsule currently docked to the International Space Station will close the hatch, separating themselves from their three comrades. A little over three hours later (22:33 UTC, 6:33 p.m. EDT) they will undock, move away from ISS, and then at 00:45 a.m. UTC (8:45 p.m. EDT) they will commence their deorbit burn, which will drop them into Earth’s atmosphere and send them down into the fields of Kazakhstan.

And you can watch the whole thing live! It’ll be broadcast on the NASA TV stream, as well as UStream.

Advertisement

The astronauts—Richard Mastracchio, Koichi Wakata, and Mikhail Tyurin—are part of Expedition 39 and have been on the ISS since November. They’re expected to land back on Earth at 01:57 UTC (9:57 p.m. EDT). Mastracchio noted that astronauts Reid Wiseman and Alexander Gerst are likely to live-tweet the de-orbit from ISS, so follow them!

I wonder, too: Will this be visible from the live HD video cameras on the ISS? I can’t be sure, but one of the cameras points right at the docked Soyuz! If it happens over the daylit side of Earth (when the cameras are sending down their feed) we may be in for quite a treat, so I've embedded that stream here as well. Even if these cameras don’t catch the Soyuz on its way down, the view is sure to be stunning anyway, and always well worth watching.

At least some of the undocking and deorbit burn will be over the daylit side of Earth, so here’s hoping we get a live view!

Phil Plait writes Slate’s Bad Astronomy blog and is an astronomer, public speaker, science evangelizer, and author of Death From the Skies!  

TODAY IN SLATE

Technocracy

Forget Oculus Rift

This $25 cardboard box turns your phone into an incredibly fun virtual reality experience.

The Congressional Republican Digging Through Scientists’ Grant Proposals

Renée Zellweger's New Face Is Too Real

Sleater-Kinney Was Once America’s Best Rock Band

Can it be again?

Whole Foods Is Desperate for Customers to Feel Warm and Fuzzy Again

The XX Factor

I’m 25. I Have $250.03.

My doctors want me to freeze my eggs.

The XX Factor
Oct. 20 2014 6:17 PM I’m 25. I Have $250.03. My doctors want me to freeze my eggs.
Politics

Smash and Grab

Will competitive Senate contests in Kansas and South Dakota lead to more late-breaking races in future elections?

George Tiller’s Murderer Threatens Another Abortion Provider, Claims Free Speech

These Companies in Japan Are More Than 1,000 Years Old

  News & Politics
The World
Oct. 21 2014 3:13 PM Why Countries Make Human Rights Pledges They Have No Intention of Honoring
  Business
Moneybox
Oct. 21 2014 1:12 PM The Global Millionaires Club Is Booming and Losing Its Exclusivity
  Life
The Vault
Oct. 21 2014 2:23 PM A Data-Packed Map of American Immigration in 1903
  Double X
The XX Factor
Oct. 21 2014 3:03 PM Renée Zellweger's New Face Is Too Real
  Slate Plus
Behind the Scenes
Oct. 21 2014 1:02 PM Where Are Slate Plus Members From? This Weird Cartogram Explains. A weird-looking cartogram of Slate Plus memberships by state.
  Arts
Brow Beat
Oct. 21 2014 1:47 PM The Best Way to Fry an Egg
  Technology
Technology
Oct. 21 2014 10:43 AM Social Networking Didn’t Start at Harvard It really began at a girls’ reform school.
  Health & Science
Climate Desk
Oct. 21 2014 11:53 AM Taking Research for Granted Texas Republican Lamar Smith continues his crusade against independence in science.
  Sports
Sports Nut
Oct. 20 2014 5:09 PM Keepaway, on Three. Ready—Break! On his record-breaking touchdown pass, Peyton Manning couldn’t even leave the celebration to chance.