Atlantis rides above the waves

Atlantis rides above the waves

Bad Astronomy
The entire universe in blog form
May 23 2010 8:00 AM

Atlantis rides above the waves

atlantis_iss

The Space Shuttle Atlantis will undock from the International Space Station for the last time Sunday at 11:22 a.m. EDT (15:22 UT), and is scheduled to land at Kennedy Space Center on May 26 at 08:48 ET (12:48 UT). This image was taken during the last scheduled mission of Atlantis, still attached to the ISS as it orbits over the ocean. You can watch how it go there, too: NASA has uploaded incredible video from cameras located on the solid rocket boosters during launch.

Advertisement

Image credit: NASA

Phil Plait writes Slate’s Bad Astronomy blog and is an astronomer, public speaker, science evangelizer, and author of Death From the Skies!  

  Slate Plus
Slate Plus
Aug. 28 2015 12:31 PM What Happened at Slate This Week? International affairs writer Joshua Keating on what to read to understand the apparently permanent slowdown of the Chinese economy.