Dear Prudence

Hear Prudie!

Slate's Dear Prudence podcast: Your weekly dose of audio advice from Mallory Ortberg.

Slate Plus members get
full-length, ad-free episodes
every week.

Already a member? Sign in

Or access the shorter, ad-supported version:
Subscribe now

Copy this link and manually import it into your podcast app. Questions? Click here.

Wed Nov 15 08:02:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Drama Tornado” Edition I shared some confidential information with my therapist, and then she told my dad. Help!
Wed Nov 08 08:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Wishin’ Boot” Edition My current company is considering hiring my old boss from hell. Help!
Wed Nov 01 08:01:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Friend of the Devil” Edition Psychics keep trying to donate to my Christian organization. Help!
Wed Oct 18 08:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Rich Girl” Edition My brother-in-law married rich and won’t shut up about his new lavish lifestyle. Help!
Wed Oct 11 12:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “On the Nose” Edition My adult friend carries a doll with her and pretends it’s real. Help!
Wed Oct 04 08:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Good Grief” Edition A stranger got mad at me for not letting her child use my iPad. Help!
Wed Sep 06 11:00:09 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Checking In” Edition My husband obsessively tags people on social media—often against their will, and even after he inadvertently exposed a friend’s affair.
Wed Aug 30 08:45:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Pray on This” Edition My boyfriend took pictures of me before we were dating. Is he a stalker? Help!
Wed Aug 23 07:30:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Strangers on a Train” Edition I’m a cancer survivor. How do I get people to stop commenting on my hair growing back? Help!
Wed Aug 16 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Feelings Roulette” Edition I’m not sad my husband died. Am I heartless? Help!
Wed Aug 09 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Panoply of Deviance” Edition I’m in love with a prude—how do I spice up our sex life? Help!
Wed Aug 02 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Mulligan” Edition I once told my tomboy friend no one would have sex with her, but now she’s a babe. Can I ask her out? Help!
Wed Jul 26 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Radical Unfriendliness” Edition Strangers keep telling me I’m not brown enough to be Indian. Help!
Wed Jul 19 07:30:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Open It Up” Edition Do I need to tip every time an iPad gives me those pre-programmed options? Help!
Wed Jul 12 07:10:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Bidet and Boujee” Edition Now that we own a bidet, my boyfriend refuses to buy toilet paper for the house. Help!
Wed Jul 05 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Flowers in the Attic” Edition I think I’m in love with my ex-stepbrother. Help!
Wed Jun 28 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Capitalism Is the Problem” Edition My husband loves being a stay-at-home dad, but our friends make fun of him. Help!
Wed Jun 14 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Call 311” Edition I bought my son’s girlfriend a pregnancy test and her mom found out. Help!
Wed Jun 07 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Workplace Hazard” Edition My slovenly employee keeps getting the whole staff sick. Help!
Wed May 31 14:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Resignation” Edition My parents expect me to be their free marriage counselor. Help!
Wed May 24 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Death of the Ego” Edition Help! How do I tell my friends and family I’m upset they bailed on my big birthday?
Wed May 17 07:30:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Cat-astrophe” Edition My wife says I love our cat more than her, and I think she might be right. Help!
Wed May 10 10:01:31 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Gravity Is Mad at You” Edition How do I convince my partner that my autism can’t be cured?
Wed May 03 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “United Front” Edition My mother-in-law keeps telling my 9-year-old to give up on school because she’s just going to be a stay-at-home mom. Help!
Wed Apr 26 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Hardly Working” Edition I secretly love not having a demanding job. Help!
Wed Apr 19 07:45:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Dickensian” Edition My sibling insists she suffered an abusive childhood that I just don’t remember. Help!
Wed Apr 12 07:45:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Anti-Pronoun” Edition Advice for a writer about gender-neutral pronouns and the singular “they.”
Wed Apr 05 07:15:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Raise the Bar” Edition, Part 2 I like my husband’s kids more than my own. Help!
Wed Mar 29 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Raise the Bar” Edition, Part 1 My dormmate lets his loud alarm ring for hours every morning. Help!
Wed Mar 22 07:11:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Voyagers” Edition If I leave my narcissistic husband, does that put our children at risk?
Wed Mar 15 07:00:00 EDT 2017 Dear Prudence: The “P.S.A.” Edition The women in my office always leave pee on the toilet seat. Help!
Wed Mar 08 07:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Dolly Dearest” Edition I’m scared of the doll my wife made for our child. Help!
Wed Mar 01 07:30:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Workplace Politics” Edition I’m tired of hearing my co-workers talk about the election. Help!
Wed Feb 22 14:01:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Cats Can Be Gay” Edition It drives me crazy when my lesbian friend calls inanimate objects “gay.” Help!
Wed Feb 15 07:03:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Oppression Olympics” Edition My friend thinks his Irish heritage means he can’t be racist. Help!
Wed Feb 08 07:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Line in the Sand” Edition My sister is accusing our family of homophobia, but her girlfriend is a bigot.
Wed Feb 01 09:59:55 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Chasing Amy” Edition I’m gay, but I slept with a woman … and I liked it!
Wed Jan 25 07:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Young Guns” Edition Prudie and writer Jane Coaston on how to handle a mom who keeps playing the cancer card, and more.
Wed Jan 18 13:15:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Giving Tree” Edition I’m convinced my husband had an affair with his boss—can I email her?
Wed Jan 11 12:06:13 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Family Matters” Edition Prudence and Juan-Pablo Brammer on low-key racism, in-law hookups, and other family affairs.