Dear Prudence

Hear Prudie!

Slate's Dear Prudence podcast: Your weekly dose of audio advice from Mallory Ortberg.

Slate Plus members get
full-length, ad-free episodes
every week.

Already a member? Sign in

Or access the shorter, ad-supported version:
Subscribe now

Copy this link and manually import it into your podcast app. Questions? Click here.

Wed Feb 22 14:01:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Cats Can Be Gay” Edition It drives me crazy when my lesbian friend calls inanimate objects “gay.” Help!
Wed Feb 15 07:03:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Oppression Olympics” Edition My friend thinks his Irish heritage means he can’t be racist. Help!
Wed Feb 08 07:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Line in the Sand” Edition My sister is accusing our family of homophobia, but her girlfriend is a bigot.
Wed Feb 01 09:59:55 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Chasing Amy” Edition I’m gay, but I slept with a woman … and I liked it!
Wed Jan 25 07:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Young Guns” Edition Prudie and writer Jane Coaston on how to handle a mom who keeps playing the cancer card, and more.
Wed Jan 18 13:15:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Giving Tree” Edition I’m convinced my husband had an affair with his boss—can I email her?
Wed Jan 11 12:06:13 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Family Matters” Edition Prudence and Juan-Pablo Brammer on low-key racism, in-law hookups, and other family affairs.
Wed Jan 04 14:00:00 EST 2017 Dear Prudence: The “Insomnia” Edition My best friend slept with my husband before he died. Should I confront her?
Wed Dec 28 07:00:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Rocky II” Edition How can I persuade my wife to let me quit my job so I can play poker?
Wed Dec 21 07:00:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Timing Is Everything” Edition How long to wait for a lover who’s missing at sea, the hard truth about finding true love, and the radical case for staying single.
Wed Dec 14 07:31:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Death, Sex, and Money” Edition Anna Sale joins Prudie to answer questions about breakups and boundaries.
Wed Dec 07 07:00:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: Live at the Now Hear This Podcast Festival My wife doesn’t speak English, and I’m sick of translating. Can I divorce her?
Wed Nov 30 07:19:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Anger Management” Edition I secretly had a child with my pastor and gave her up for adoption. Do I tell her his name and ruin his life?
Wed Nov 23 10:13:39 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Missing the Point” Edition Prudie stages an intervention with a woman who can’t quite admit that she’s a stalker.
Wed Nov 16 07:01:00 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Either/Or” Edition Binary choices, a Prudie impostor, and the limits of civility after Trump.
Wed Nov 09 17:23:24 EST 2016 Dear Prudence: The “How Long?” Edition My fiancée’s mother is sick. Does that mean she has to live with us forever?
Wed Nov 02 07:00:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Whaaaattt?!?” Edition It turns out my friends are really racist.
Wed Oct 26 07:15:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Good Intentions” Edition What to do when your stepfather tries to “boost your confidence” by telling you how hot you are.
Wed Oct 19 08:04:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Devil’s Advocate” Edition, Part 2 Man-whores, the limits of tradition, and why you should always use plasticware at family events.
Wed Oct 12 07:34:02 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Devil’s Advocate” Edition Long-term grudges, marriage as an endurance sport, and the problem of the “benign” racist.
Wed Oct 05 07:00:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Boundaries” Edition Setting boundaries at work, at home, and on your podcast.
Wed Sep 28 10:15:11 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Creative Solutions” Edition Death-obsessed in-laws, ruining your husband’s closest friendship, and charging your friends when you roast them a chicken.
Wed Sep 21 06:01:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Talk About It Now” Edition The great lie that is “he doesn’t really mean it.”
Wed Sep 14 10:27:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Petty Revenge” Edition When your parents write you out of their wills, then ask you to host Thanksgiving.
Wed Sep 07 14:06:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Do It in Song” Edition W. Kamau Bell and Hari Kondabolu join Prudie for a special musical episode.
Wed Aug 31 07:00:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Time Is Not an Apology” Edition Why do people feel entitled to be rude to their friends?
Wed Aug 24 07:00:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Little Red Hen” Edition A woman drops everything to move across the country for a relationship that didn’t work out—now what?
Wed Aug 17 07:30:00 EDT 2016 The “Read the Room” Edition Prudence on freeloading relatives, vegetarian-trolling meat-eaters, and parents who fear armpit hair.
Wed Aug 10 11:41:32 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Self-Indulgence Vs. Self-Care” Edition Is it OK to be happy, and how can I keep my fiancé from spending all of my money?
Tue Aug 02 14:17:41 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “You Can’t Treat People That Way” Edition Prudie and guest Jasmine Guillory draw some hard lines.
Tue Jul 26 17:19:28 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Unconditional Love” Edition Questions of morality, decency, and the struggle to be your best self.
Wed Jul 20 10:49:59 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Butt Out” Edition So your friends are irresponsible parents. How bad does it need to get before you call the cops?
Wed Jul 13 10:39:38 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Regret Baby” Edition What to do when your husband shames you for your abortion.
Wed Jul 06 13:00:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Transactional Relationships” Edition Prudie talks insurance fraud in the family, green card marriages, and pronoun abuse at the office.
Thu Jun 30 10:25:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Sisters!” Edition Prudie talks sister pet drama, sister college drama, and sister bullying drama.
Tue Jun 21 07:30:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Is This a Real Question?” Edition What do you do when your gay son wants to go to a religious college?
Tue Jun 14 16:42:58 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Secret Nudity Treehouse” Edition Do text message apologies count?
Tue Jun 07 12:15:00 EDT 2016 Dear Prudence: The “Prudie Gets Some Advice” Edition Slate’s advice columnist finally gets her own podcast.