Cardinal bishop, cardinal deacon, cardinal priest: What's the difference?

Answers to your questions about the news.
April 29 2002 1:52 PM

Cardinal Bishop, Cardinal Deacon, Cardinal Priest: What's the Difference?

A group of U.S. cardinals returned from Rome after a two-day conference with the pope. What are a cardinal's duties, and what do their ranks mean?


The title of cardinal is bestowed by papal appointment. Cardinals perform two primary duties: to act as advisers to the pope at his request, and to eventually elect his replacement. Upon a pope's death or resignation, the College of Cardinals elects a member of the church to serve as the new pontiff (cardinals over age 80 may not vote). While a two-thirds majority vote is initially required to elect, a pope may be elected by a simple majority vote if nine days of voting produce no winner.The voting process last occurred in 1978 with the election of Pope John Paul II.

The three ranks of cardinals are cardinal bishop, cardinal deacon, and cardinal priest. Only six cardinals hold the title of cardinal bishop. Each cardinal bishop holds jurisdiction over a church in a suburb of Rome. These cardinals work in departments of the Roman Curia, the central administration of the church.

Often called "the pope's cabinet," cardinal deacons also work full-time in the curia. The senior cardinal deacon has the honor of ceremoniously announcing the newly elected pope from the balcony of the Vatican.

Cardinal priests are bishops who serve in dioceses outside Rome. The overwhelming majority of cardinals are cardinal priests, including U.S. cardinals.

Bonus Explainer: So, why do some cities have an archbishop but not a cardinal? Each of the 32 ecclesiastical provinces in the United States has a ruling archbishop, who is appointed by the pope, but it's up to the pope to decide whether to make each archbishop a cardinal. So far, Pope John Paul II has promoted 12 U.S. archbishops; before his death in 1978, Paul VI promoted one. Of those 13, five are either retired or based at the Vatican. The other eight represent New York City, Chicago, Baltimore, Boston, Los Angeles, Detroit, Philadelphia, and the District of Columbia.

Explainer thanks the Vatican Web site, writer Michael Sean Winters, and Adam D. Pederson for asking the question.


Frame Game

Hard Knocks

I was hit by a teacher in an East Texas public school. It taught me nothing.

Republicans Like Scott Walker Are Building Campaigns Around Problems That Don’t Exist

Why Greenland’s “Dark Snow” Should Worry You

If You’re Outraged by the NFL, Follow This Satirical Blowhard on Twitter

The Best Way to Organize Your Fridge

The World

Iran and the U.S. Are Allies

They just aren’t ready to admit it yet.

Sports Nut

Giving Up on Goodell

How the NFL lost the trust of its most loyal reporters.

Chief Justice John Roberts Says $1,000 Can’t Buy Influence in Congress. Looks Like He’s Wrong.

A No-Brainer Approach to Fighting Poverty: Better Birth Control

  News & Politics
The World
Sept. 16 2014 11:56 AM Iran and the U.S. Are Allies Against ISIS but Aren’t Ready to Admit It Yet
Business Insider
Sept. 16 2014 1:23 PM Germany Has Asked Google to Reveal Its Search Algorithm, but That's Not Going to Happen
The Eye
Sept. 16 2014 12:20 PM These Outdoor Cat Shelters Have More Style Than the Average Home
  Double X
The XX Factor
Sept. 15 2014 3:31 PM My Year As an Abortion Doula
  Slate Plus
Tv Club
Sept. 15 2014 11:38 AM The Slate Doctor Who Podcast: Episode 4  A spoiler-filled discussion of "Listen."
Sept. 16 2014 12:59 PM Ethereal Views of Earth From Way Up High 
Future Tense
Sept. 16 2014 12:33 PM Slate Exclusive: Why Greenland’s “Dark Snow” Should Worry You
  Health & Science
Bad Astronomy
Sept. 16 2014 7:30 AM A Galaxy of Tatooines
Sports Nut
Sept. 15 2014 9:05 PM Giving Up on Goodell How the NFL lost the trust of its most loyal reporters.